SA Payroll Awards 2017

Congratulations to our South African Payroll Association Awards winners:

Payroll Junior – winner of R10 000! Heidi Coetzee of Accsys

Payroll Senior – winner of R20 000! Mariette Lubbe of AVI National Brands

Payroll Team – winners of R10 000! Danone Southern Africa

Online nomination is now closed


2016 Winners:
PAYROLL TEAM - Group Five Payroll Team



SAPA hosted a cocktail evening to celebrate the award winners in each category after
the first day’s conference proceedings.


Payroll Professional Junior: Ronel Aspeling

Payroll Professional Senior: Leona Clark

Team: Multichoice Payroll Team







 The Senior Payroll Professional is responsible for the full payroll function and for providing a high quality of service to the organisation.  This Professional can demonstrate implementation of effective payroll process in a robust control environment, and optimisation of systems and processes to drive delivery improvement.

The nominee must have detailed knowledge of payroll legislation and company policies pertaining to payroll procedures, as well as an understanding of governance, risk management and internal control concepts. Judges will be looking for:

  • Technical excellence
  • Leadership qualities
  • Keeping abreast of current trends
  • Ability to think strategically
  • Use of payroll information to communicate to senior, middle and lower management

 The Junior Payroll Professional is recognised for outstanding service and going the extra mile in their organisation, and making a key difference to the function of Payroll Administration.

The nominee must demonstrate compliance to regulatory standards and company policies relating to payroll. Judges will be looking for the following achievements:

  • Service beyond the call of duty
  • Outstanding contribution to the employer
  • Excellent team player


This team of payroll professionals is responsible for the implementation of payroll processes and procedures, and is recognised by their organisation as a team which adds value and strategic benefit to the organisation as a whole.

The team is responsible for payroll service delivery, exercises robust control, and complies with Payroll legislation and company policies.

The team is recognised in the organisation as providing service excellence to all stakeholders, both internal and external, and demonstrates an improvement in one or more of the following categories:

  • Reduction in financial costs
  • Providing management information
  • Team engagement across organisation
  • Employee satisfaction
  • Reflecting a strong sense of team work
  • Significant improvements in payroll performance
  • Achievements of targets
  • Implementation of new procedures or systems

Nominations are now closed







Payroll Professional - Senior

2014 Winner:  Ursula McLaren



Payroll Professional - Junior

2014 Winner: Jetro Malapane





Payroll Team

2014 Winners: Group Five Construction

Please click here for the photo gallery





SAPA AWARDS 2013 - 3 September 2013

It was a very proud moment for SAPA as it hosted its very first awards ceremony at a lavish gala dinner on 3 September 2013.

The winners for the evening were:

  • Senior Payroll professional  - Lavine Haripersad and Marius Nell
  • Junior Payroll professional - Banisha Matadin
  • Payroll team - Nampak